stone, floor, wall-707171.jpg

認識我們

認識我們

我們對於戰爭遺跡以及隱藏在香港郊區叢林中、埋藏在地下的故事了解多少呢?在我們為期兩年(2023-2024)的創新科技基金項目中,1 我們以考古和歷史研究為目標,推廣以創新的地理空間和地球物理技術,來揭示第二次世界大戰香港戰役中失落已久的遺產。

1 https://www.itf.gov.hk/en/project-search/project-profile/index.html?ReferenceNo=GSP/043/22

歷史背景

https://www.mdpi.com/2571-9408/6/9/325

1840年代開始,香港成為了英國的戰略前哨和亞洲重要的港口城市之一。在第二次世界大戰(1939-1945年)前,英國在維多利亞港兩側的香港島和九龍半島,建立了沿海防禦工事,為潛在與日本的戰爭做好準備。

在太平洋戰爭期間(1941-1945年),香港是日本軍隊最早入侵的地方之一。香港戰役於1941年12月8日至25日間持續了共 17天半 ,見證了劇烈的戰事和遭受到大規模的破壞。戰事中,城市內多個種族組成的駐軍,奮力抵抗規模更大和裝備更好的日本軍隊。駐軍依靠固定的防禦工事,例如沿著九龍山脊延伸的 醉酒灣防線 ,以彌補其在人數和火力方面的不足。儘管駐軍奮勇抵抗,香港也最終在1941年12月25日落入日本軍隊之手,而這一天也被稱為 「黑色聖誕節」。這場戰爭十分爭慘烈,雙方都遭受了重大損失,並至少有4,000名平民在戰爭中喪生或受傷。由於戰後的混亂和日本的暴行,實際傷亡人數可能更多。

香港淪陷這一段殘酷的日本侵佔時期被稱為 「三年零八個月」的殘酷日本佔領的開始,該佔領一直持續到戰爭結束。佔領時期日軍持續實施暴行、剝奪和強迫勞動,給香港人民帶來了莫大的痛苦。

香港在第二次世界大戰期間的經歷是這座城市和世界歷史重要的一部分,代表了曾經把香港視為家園人民的共同犧牲和苦難。

TECHNOLOGICAL BACKGROUND

‎‎‎‎‎

們運用了先進的科技,探索並揭示重要的二戰遺產。我們開發了三個階段的地理空間技術方法,以協助對香港二戰的考古調查和歷史解讀,幫助擴大和深化我們對英日軍事的研究。

第一階段是在香港浸會大學的「1941年香港戰役空間史研究」項目,以電腦輔助分析研究。該項目研究歷史文獻、舊地圖、航空照片、進攻和防禦計劃,以及Google Earth,以確定調查區域和探索點。 

第二階段是使用航空LiDAR技術。我們利用了政府的航空LiDAR地面雷射反射數據,抽取出3D點雲,然後在地理信息系統(GIS)內建立數碼地貌模型(DTM)進行地理記錄。採用線性和非線性成像算法,如紅色浮雕地圖(RRIM),制作最準確的數碼地貌模型,從而找出銀水渠防線內未知的二戰遺產特徵(稱為「遺產」)。之後通過結合第一階段的結果,再開發了基於數碼地貌模型和歷史數據的混合框架,以評估在香港戰役期間的銀水渠防線中現場驗證工作的優先次序。該分析結果能分辨與遺產相關的數碼地貌模型的特徵,例如碉堡、壕溝、隧道和其他二戰建築。 

第三階段是通過現場調查和驗證,來建立二戰遺產的混合地形3D模型。團隊利用GNSS-RTK進行精確測量,然後在現場找到二戰遺產特徵後,進行地面或手持式LiDAR掃描。所有掃描都與使用GNSS-RTK進行地理記錄的編碼紙連繫。在調查地點和辦公室內,我們建立的3D點雲和RGB模型與數碼地貌模型重疊,重現1941年戰場的真實3D擴增現實效果。透過以上三層結合地理空間和技術的方法,我們能更有效地探索在香港的二戰遺產,更能以3D模型和擴增實境方式呈現這些消失的二戰遺產,揭示並保存這一段香港重要的歷史。

永不忘記

目標

目標1

示範使用航空和地面地理空間和地球物理科技,
將埋藏在香港崎嶇地形中的戰爭遺產遺址製作成圖像。

目標2

讓中學生和大眾能夠與我們一起使用科技來揭示被埋藏的戰爭遺產。

目標3

推廣和宣傳藝術科技整合的方法,包括:(甲)歷史解析、(乙)保存文化遺產、(丙)STEAM教育與公眾參與
,以及(丁)在2025年二戰80周年紀念中的紀念展覽。

Cross-discipline Team

副系主任 (教學) & 副教授
香港理工大學

副教授
香港浸會大學

考古學家
香港大學

業餘歷史學家

業餘歷史學家

業餘歷史學家

法醫人類學家
香港中文大學

副教授
香港大學

副講師
聖安德魯斯大學

PolyU Team

賴緯樂 博士工程師

副系主任 (教學) & 副教授
香港理工大學

鍾建宏

研究助理
香港理工大學

潘振豪

研究助理
香港理工大學

薛斐晴

研究助理
香港理工大學

鄭宇正

研究生
香港理工大學

Sandhu Sahib Singh

研究助理
香港理工大學

韓瑤

科學主任
香港理工大學

關莉怡

研究助理
香港理工大學

甄威揚 博士

客座助理教授
香港理工大學

林月菁 博士

高級研究學者
香港理工大學

Scroll to Top

stone, floor, wall-707171.jpg

About Us

GET TO KNOW US…

How much do we know about the ruins of war and the numerous stories that are hidden in the forests and buried beneath the ground in our Hong Kong countryside? In our two-year Innovation Technology Fund project1 (2023-2024), we promote innovative geospatial and geophysical technologies to unfold the long-lost heritages in the Battle of Hong Kong during WWII for the purpose of archaeological and historical studies.

1 https://www.itf.gov.hk/en/project-search/project-profile/index.html?ReferenceNo=GSP/043/22

HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

S

https://www.mdpi.com/2571-9408/6/9/325

tarting from the 1840s, Hong Kong had become one of the British strategic outposts and a pivotal port city in Asia. Before the Second World War (1939-1945), the British had built coastal defenses on the Kowloon and Hong Kong Island sides of Victoria Harbour in preparation of a potential Japanese invasion.

During the Pacific War (1941-1945), Hong Kong was one of the first places attacked by the Japanese forces. The Battle of Hong Kong, which lasted seventeen-and-a-half days between 8 and 25 December 1945, witnessed heavy fighting and widespread destruction. The city’s multi-ethnic garrison fiercely fought against the larger and better-equipped Japanese forces. The garrison relied on fixed defences to compensate their weaknesses in number and firepower, such as the Gin Drinkers Line that stretched along the Kowloon Ridge. However, despite the tenacious defence of the garrison, the city fell to the Japanese forces on 25 December 1941, thereafter known as the “Black Christmas”. The battle was brutal, with both sides suffering significant losses. At least 4,000 civilians were killed or wounded during the battle; the actual toll could be even higher due to the post-battle chaos and Japanese atrocities.

The fall of Hong Kong marked the beginning of a brutal Japanese occupation known as “the three years and eight months”, that lasted until the end of the war. The occupation brought widespread suffering, atrocities, forced labor, and deprivation to the people of Hong Kong.

The experience of Hong Kong during the Second World War is a significant part of the history of city and the world, representing the common sacrifice and suffering of people around the world who once called Hong Kong a home, even temporarily.

TECHNOLOGICAL BACKGROUND

W

‎‎‎‎‎

e have developed a three-tier geo-spatial and tech-based approach to facilitate archaeological investigation and historical interpretation of WWII in Hong Kong, to help expanding and deepening our understanding of the British and Japanese military works on the hills.

Tier 1 (desktop searching the past) starts with the project ‘The Battle of Hong Kong 1941: a Spatial History Project’ by Hong Kong Baptist University, where historical texts, old maps, aerial photos, plans of attack and defence, and Google Earth were studied to define regions/points of interest. 

Tier 2 (airborne LiDAR) involves the adoption of 3D point clouds extracted from the government’s airborne LiDAR ground laser return to develop a digital terrain model (DTM) for geo-registration in a geographic information system (GIS). We then explore the use of the linear and non-linear (RRIM) imaging algorithms for the best built DTM to search for the lost and unknown WWII heritage features (‘heritages’) in the Gin Drinkers Line. Then, together with the results from tier 1, we design a hybrid DTM/history-based framework to prioritise and evaluate field-validation priority in the Gin Drinkers Line of defence in the Battle of Hong Kong. The output allows us to characterise and extract the DTM features of the heritages (pillboxes, trenches, tunnels, and WWII features) via field validation. 

Tier 3 (field survey and validation for hybrid air–ground 3D modelling of WWII heritages) is the field work, which means a team expedition based on the setting out survey using GNSS-RTK and subsequent ground-based terrestrial/handheld LiDAR scanning after the WWII heritage features were identified in the field. All scans were tied to coded paper targets geo-referenced using GNSS-RTK. After the field work, and in the office, the built 3D point cloud and RGB models were overlaid on the DTM to generate a real 3D augmented reality of the battlefield in 1941.

Lest We Forget

OBJECTIVES

Goal 1

Demonstrate the airborne and terrestrial geo-spatial and geophysical technologies for imaging
buried war heritage site in rugged natural terrain in Hong Kong

Goal 2

Engage the secondary schools and general public on the use of technologies for unfolding buried war heritage

Goal 3

Promote an integrated Art-Tech approach and maximize the publicity on (a) historical interpretation, (b) heritage conservation,
(c) STEAM education & public engagement and (d) exhibitions for remembrance in 80th anniversary of WWII in 2025.

Cross-discipline Team

Associate Head (Teaching) & Associate Professor
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Associate Professor
Hong Kong Baptist University

Archaeologist
The University of Hong Kong

Amateur Historian

Amateur Historian

Amateur Historian

Forensic Anthropologist
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Associate Professor
The University of Hong Kong

Associate Lecturer
University of St Andrews

PolyU Team

Wallace Lai Wai-lok

Associate Head (Teaching) & Associate Professor
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dexter Chung Kin Wang

Research Assistant
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Pun Chun Ho

Research Assistant
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Kathleen Sit Fei Ching

Research Assistant
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Alex Cheng Yu Ching

Research Student
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Sandhu Sahib Singh

Research Assistant
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Serein Han Yao

Scientific Officer
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Rene Kwan Lee Yee

Research Assistant
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Yan Wai Yeung

Adjunct Assistant Professor
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Jeanne Lam Yuet Ching

Senior Research Fellow
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Scroll to Top